The 111 year-old building is one of the most unique examples of Islamic and European architectural fusion.
Egypt’s Ministry of Antiquities has announced that the Prince Youssef Kamal Palace in Nagaa Hammadi, Qena will be reopened after a comprehensive restoration project on the 111 year-old building, according to Egypt Today.
Built in 1908 under the supervision of Italian engineer, Antonio Lashiak, the palace has long been considered one of the most unique examples of architectural fusion of European and Islamic styles in Egypt. Built across 10 acres of land, the Nile-side palace is made of nine quite unique units, including Salamlek Palace and the Shrine of Sheikh Omran, while one of the most spectacular features comes in the form of a wooden elevator that was specifically made for the Prince’s ailing mother.
Kamal - or Prince Yusuf Kamal bin Amir Ahmed Kamal, to give him his full name - was a member of the Alawite family, which ruled Egypt between 1805 and 1952. In 1988, the palace was registered as an Islamic monument.
Main Image: Zainab Mohammed